So far, so good

Well, I’ve been keeping to my diet and exercise routine.  Not so much my cleaning.  My place is still cleaner than it was, but I haven’t really done much to clean it up lately.  Mostly it is because of what has been going on in my so-called life.

I started keeping a food log of everything I eat.  Over two weeks, I average 1307 calories, 101 grams of carbs and 60 grams of protein per day.  Considering I require about twice that many calories just to stay alive, not to mention what I need to be active at work and what I burn off while working out, it is not surprising that I have lost over 10 pounds in the last week.

Unfortunately, I only just received my scale a week ago, so I don’t know how much I lost before that.  I definitely notice the difference.  For one, I can tighten my belt more than one entire belt loop tighter than I could a few months ago.

Yeah, but isn’t that just water weight you’re losing, and won’t it just come back?  No, I don’t think so.  You see, I ordered of these new-fangled digital scales that not only measures weight, but also your body fat, water weight, muscle mass and bone mass.  According to my scale, I have maintained a constant water weight since I started using it.  Besides, I have a long way to go to reach my goal.

What is my weight-loss goal?  Well, I don’t have a specific target weight.  It’s more that I want to reach the “normal” and “safe” levels of body fat.  I would also like to increase my muscle mass, especially my upper-body muscles.  According to all the sites online, my “ideal” weight is under 180 pounds.  I have a long way to go to reach that, but every little bit helps.

I realize that 10 pounds in one week is not only unsustainable, but is probably a little too high for safety.  Back when I was a teenager, my dietitian told me that a weight loss of 1 to 2 pounds per week was the maximum safe value.  Of course, that was 30 years ago, so maybe the medical consensus has changed since then.  On the other hand, I am so overweight that I’m not concerned; I think it safer to lose weight too fast than to keep that extra weight on me.  Of course, this only applies until I reach a more reasonable weight.

So, working out.  I used to work out when I was younger, but not like I do now.  Back then, I would work out until it began to hurt, then would ease off and only exert enough effort to keep it from hurting.  I would sweat, but not much.  Now, I realize what it really means to work out.  Once it starts to hurt, that is just the beginning of the work-out session.  I am routinely drenched in sweat when I am done.  I realize that I am so out of shape that a “normal” person would probably not sweat nearly as much as I do, but that’s the whole point.  I want to lose weight and gain muscle until I am normal.  Besides using the free weights to work on my upper-body strength, I use the stationary bike, treadmill and cross-training machines.  I try to burn at least 300 calories per day using those machines.  That may not sound like much to an expert, I really don’t know, but I am losing weight.

What about my diet, how is that going?  Swimmingly.  I am really having no problem staying on it, because unlike previous diets, I am not constantly hungry.  In fact, there have been several days where I have had to force myself to eat something just so I could have a safe level of calories for the day.  I continue to drink lots of water, which helps because it keeps my stomach full.  When I am hungry but it’s not meal time, I snack on carrots or sunflower seeds or peanuts.  I allow myself a “treat” every now and then, such as an ice cream sandwich or a glass of wine, just as long as I don’t exceed my daily limits.

It’s weird, but I actually enjoy eating salads now.  Before, they were always “bleh”.  Now, it’s almost like the feeling of eating a good steak.  I figure it must have something to do with the diet I’m on.  Whenever I do eat anything that is high in carbs, I always feel bloated and lethargic afterwards.

I have started drinking coffee.  I never used to touch the stuff.  The hard part is drinking it without sugar.  Adding cream isn’t so bad, but I switched to non-dairy creamer to lower the calorie and carb count.  Besides being a low-calorie alternative to plain water, the caffeine helps burn calories by keeping me active.

I bought a digital pedometer that I always wear.  I walk a lot at work, and the pedometer shows that I average about 5000 steps per day.  That alone is a significant calorie burner.

I really need to work on cleaning up more.  I plan to dedicate tomorrow entirely to cleaning (and working out), partly because the annual village inspection is next week and I would like the place to look half-way decent.  At least I can say that I haven’t allowed it to get any messier; I have managed to clean up after myself every day.  I just have so much stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

